Skip to main content
Transport Operators Educational Guide

Railroad ROIC and Capital Discipline

By Selborne Research ·

Return on invested capital for Class I railroads: which companies file it, the 8% hurdle CSX discloses, how to set ROIC against the cost of capital.

Educational analysis for professional use. This guide is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and it is not personalised.

Operating Ratio Tells You Efficiency; ROIC Tells You Whether Capital Earns Its Keep

Class I railroads are North America’s largest freight carriers. Only two of the five listed ones, Union Pacific and Canadian National (CN), published a return on invested capital (ROIC) for FY2025. Their usual yardstick is the operating ratio (OR), operating expenses as a share of revenue, where lower is better.

ROIC asks whether the network earns more than the cost of the capital tied up in track, locomotives and working capital. Each railroad adjusts after-tax operating profit (NOPAT) and invested capital its own way, but the test is the same: is ROIC above the hurdle?

FY2025 Filed ROIC

CompanyAdjusted ROICReported ROICFiled?
Union Pacific16.3%–Yes (FY2025 earnings exhibit)
Canadian National13.0%12.9%Yes (FY2025 Q4 stats supplement)
CSXNot published–Economic Profit uses 8% hurdle only
Norfolk SouthernNot published–No FY2025 ROIC in materials reviewed
Canadian Pacific Kansas City (CPKC)Not published–Long-term target: return to double-digit core adjusted ROIC (2024–2028 framework)

Union Pacific’s FY2024 ROIC was 15.8% reported, close to its FY2025 adjusted figure but on a different basis. CN’s FY2025 disclosure puts average invested capital at C$41,978m.

Hurdle Rates: CSX 8% and Model WACC 8.5%

Of the two eastern US railroads, CSX and Norfolk Southern, only CSX files a return hurdle. It sits in CSX’s Economic Profit measure (profit after a charge for capital) and applies to gross operating assets, so it is a return on assets rather than a WACC.

BenchmarkLevelStatus
CSX Economic Profit hurdle8.0% on gross operating assetsFiled (CSX, FY2024)
Group WACC~8.0% nominalHouse convention for comparing the group
Model WACC8.5% nominalThe model’s illustrative default input

The two WACC figures are separate things: a convention for comparing railroads, and the model’s starting input.

A third-party summary from Vontobel puts cycle-average ROIC for listed Class I railroads at around 11%, about three points above an 8% hurdle.

ROIC Versus WACC Screen

Four bands give a quick first sort: above 12%, 10% to 12%, 8% to 10%, and below 8%. The bottom boundary is the 8% hurdle CSX files; the bands themselves are our convention. Sorting companies into them means something only when each defines ROIC the same way.

Worked Example: ROIC Spread Over WACC

An illustrative railroad:

InputValue
ROIC11.5%
WACC (illustrative)8.5%
Spread3.0 percentage points

Economic profit is the spread times invested capital. On every $10bn of invested capital, a 3.0 point spread is $300m a year above the cost of capital. If ROIC fell to the 8.5% WACC, economic profit would be zero, though the railroad would still report an accounting profit.

With real companies, a spread is only as good as the filer’s ROIC definition. One-off items can also move a single year, so two years on the same basis tell you more than one.

When ROIC Is Missing

For the three railroads without a filed ROIC, operating ratio and free cash flow carry the analysis.

CompanyWhat to use instead
CSXImplied adjusted OR 66.8%; FCF before dividends $1,789M; 8% Economic Profit hurdle
Norfolk SouthernGAAP OR 64.2% (−220 bps YoY); FCF $2,157M; ROIC not disclosed
CPKCCore adjusted OR 59.9%; GAAP-derived FCF C$2,207M; core adjusted ROIC target only

Cash flow also shows capital returns. CPKC’s FY2025 buybacks cost C$3,942M in cash, more than its free cash flow, so the year’s cash generation did not cover them.

Linking OR Improvement to ROIC

A lower OR lifts ROIC only if invested capital grows more slowly than NOPAT. Precision scheduled railroading (PSR), running fewer, longer trains to a fixed schedule, cut costs and lowered OR. Yet a railroad can reach an OR of 59–60% and still see ROIC slip if capex swells the asset base. Read OR and ROIC together before inferring equity value from efficiency alone.

Railroads Sector Primer

The operating ratio fades year by year off volume, revenue per unit and capex, feeding a value per share checked against return on capital.

40 pages
15 sections, the operating ratio to a year-by-year valuation to the exit year and return on capital
2 worked examples
a mature scheduled-railroading compounder and an operating-ratio improvement story
5-company screen
the listed North American Class I railroads on filed operating data

The Excel model is the primer's railroad build live across 11 sheets: revenue from volume and revenue per unit, an operating ratio that fades year by year, a valuation for a mature compounder and an improvement story, a margin bridge, return on capital against the cost of capital, free cash flow and capital returns, and a sensitivity grid. Change the operating ratio path or capex and the value moves.

See what's in the Railroads Sector Primer → £25 PDF, £59 with the Excel model, or £159 for the full Transport Operators library

Frequently Asked Questions

What ROIC do North American Class I railroads earn?
Union Pacific reported FY2025 adjusted ROIC of 16.3%; Canadian National reported 13.0% adjusted (12.9% reported). CSX, Norfolk Southern and Canadian Pacific Kansas City published no FY2025 ROIC in the primary filings we reviewed, so for those three read the operating ratio and free cash flow instead.
What WACC should I use for railroads?
Class I filings give no definitive WACC. CSX discloses an 8% required return on gross operating assets in its Economic Profit framework (FY2024 filing). We use about 8.0% nominal as a house convention for comparing the group, and our model starts from 8.5% as an illustrative input. ROIC above the cost of capital means the network earns more than its capital costs, provided the company defines ROIC the same way each year.
How do ROIC screening bands work?
They are a house convention for a first sort: above 12%, 10% to 12%, 8% to 10%, and below 8%, with the bottom boundary at the 8% hurdle CSX files. No railroad files them, and they compare like with like only when each company defines ROIC the same way.
Why is Norfolk Southern ROIC missing?
Norfolk Southern did not disclose FY2025 ROIC in the 10-K or earnings materials we reviewed. Read it instead on its operating ratio (64.2% GAAP, 220 bps lower than FY2024) and free cash flow.